Whooo! What a full weekend.

And I am amazed by the changes in me in a mere week. I am still itchy in patches, especially my fingers, but the overall inflammatory response is a lot less. If I do catch myself scratching, it doesn’t turn into a big swollen oozing mess. I was actually able to gently exfoliate the peeling skin all over my face without causing more inflammation. That is progress!

I am continuing on with the greens dominant diet. I have not felt deprived one bit so far. Perhaps because the novelty is still there. Mostly, though, because I am feeling good…and lighter too though I haven’t stepped on a scale.

Another colonics appointment showed a lot of progress- a decrease in candida- a very good sign that they are dying out due to lack of sugars. I just need to stay the course.

The true test was today, Mother’s day, at my mother-in-laws. When we get together there is always great food…and great desserts. But I came prepared with my own arsenal so that if temptation or hunger struck, I could overcome it. There was tons for me to eat, because I have very thoughtful family members, and I ended up feeling only slight twinges of desire for the other foods they were eating!

20160508_165117.jpg
Yummy home made kale chips were my buddy while everyone indulged in delicious pies.

We also got outside today for a run and some gardening. Gotta get some greens planted so I don’t have to keep hitting up the farmer’s market.

20160508_103613.jpgI do enjoy the sprouts I get from one farm stand; the broccoli, cilantro, onion, pea, barley sprouts, you name it. They do come at a premium, so I only get a small batch, enough for a smoothie and some left over to top a salad. Over buying is something I try to avoid…though I am still trying to get a sense of how many greens I go through in a week. I am hoping to have that dialed in in the near future. If I can grow more myself, I think I will feel even better about all this…but there is only so much a momma can do. We shall see.20160507_120845.jpg

Dressing my toddler up this afternoon to go to Nana and Papa’s house for a Mother’s day brunch, I realized that she has almost no dresses left that she fits. Somehow she had a major growth spurt that I didn’t quite catch on to. That got me thinking…is a dress a necessity? But really, the reason I didn’t know that she’d outgrown her dresses is precisely because of the fact that she rarely wears dresses. Sooo…yes, a dress is nice, but not a necessity at the moment.

…though… dang, I just realized we are going to a wedding in June….

We will cross that bridge when we get there!

 

Leave a Reply

